Merely Whelmed

An analysis of the misanthrope

Turning of the crank November 24, 2006

Filed under: My Rants — tirunesh @ 2:09 pm

Ok. Ok. I know. I suck.

I was just reprimanded by a friend who says this is the only blog she checks… Who knew!? I didn’t realize that people were actually waiting for a post so I’m going to try and post something relatively interesting soon.

I’m leaving for Senegal tomorrow and will then be in Mali on Dec. 5th, so something adventurous is bound to happen.

For the time being, let me just comment on a few thoughts I’ve had of late:

1) Cynicism is highly revered in this society as a personality trait that increases one’s intellectual appeal. A crotchety cynic is more discerning than someone who is able to enjoy some aspects of most things. The curmudgeon is often more highly respected (maybe only ostensibly) because she gives off this odour of superiority as she looks down her pointy nose at the rest of us. Pshaw! I say! Down with the rotten apples! I’ve secretly begun working on a sunny disposition campaign in my office. I have begun implementing a sensitization campaign on the merits of giggles, smiles and silly accents as strategic methods of getting what you want instead of hard-nosed negotiations, mind games and power trips. So far, I have gotten one pay raise, a two-week stint in a director’s office with a door and a potential relocation to the country of my dreams. So take that Crotchety McCrotchenstein!

2) Larry O’Brien can’t spell. He also didn’t know where City Hall was. But in the weeks leading up to the elections I went to his website and the introductory message said, “Your invited to a party to support Larry” or something along those lines. This was in bold, hyperlink, 14 point font. So I left a comment saying that I would never vote for a guy with bad grammar. The next day, my message was gone, but the caption had been corrected! So there! Now that’s democracy at work.

3) Oliver Stone has made me a better person.

Those are all the thoughts I’ve had over the past 4 weeks.

 

One Response to “Turning of the crank”

  1. Paslibe Says:

    Your thoughts are random but sensible. Have a great trip to Africa, be healthy, get things done and get home safe.


Leave a comment